Skip to main content

Wyoming · high school · 2026-2027 school year

Wyoming homeschool graduation requirements, diploma, and transcript

Trellis has no step-by-step law page for Wyoming yet. The state's own statute and agency sources at the end of this page are the primary references.

The short version

  • Who sets the requirement: the state's graduation rules bind public schools, not homeschools. The parent issues the diploma.
  • What colleges actually look for: University of Wyoming's own published course expectations are in the table below.
  • What a transcript must show: courses by year, credits, and grades, kept by the parent, with the same subject headings the reference table uses.
  • Across states: compare what 51 flagship universities ask.

The public-school credit table, for reference

Open the public-school credit referenceA planning reference, not a homeschool requirement.

A homeschool is not held to it. It is shown as the reference a transcript is commonly read against. A recruited athlete also registers with the NCAA Eligibility Center, which grades home-school core courses against its own worksheet, separate from this table.

SubjectCreditsWhat that means
English — 4 school years of English (state-set minimum). State sets years, not credit units; district defines the credit value of a school year
Math — 3 school years of mathematics (state-set minimum). State sets years, not credit units; the district defines the credit value of a school year.
Science — 3 school years of science (state-set minimum). State sets years, not credit units; the district defines the credit value of a school year. Chapter 31 lets one of the three science years be a computer science course.
Social studies — 3 school years of social studies including history, American government, economic systems/institutions. State sets years, not credit units; the district defines the credit value of a school year.
Foreign language — Not specified at state level; left to local district policy
PE and health — Not specified at state level; left to local district policy
Arts — Not specified at state level; left to local district policy
Electives — Not specified at state level; left to local district policy
Other — Passing an exam on the principles of the US and Wyoming constitutions. No statewide total-credit number exists; each local school district sets its own credit thresholds and any additional requirements under Chapter 31

Assessments in the public-school rules: Constitution exam (US and Wyoming) required statewide; no other statewide graduation exam. Course credit thresholds and any local assessments are set district-by-district. These exams bind public-school students; a homeschooled student is not required to take them.

What Wyoming colleges ask a homeschooled applicant for

Read the admissions and homeschool detailsLaw, testing, and application context

University of Wyoming is the state's public university, so it is the single university listed. Wyoming graduation requirements are state 'school years' minimums (Chapter 31) with no statewide credit total; districts set actual credit values. Homeschoolers file no curriculum with the district (since HB 46, effective July 1, 2025) and the parent determines and certifies completion.

Years of each subject. 0 means the university lists no requirement in that subject; a dash means it publishes no figure for it.

University of WyomingPublished course expectations

flagship University of Wyoming

SubjectMinimumRecommended
English4–
Math4–
Science4–
Social studies3–
Foreign language––
Arts––

4 years of additional coursework in one combined bucket (foreign language, fine arts, or career education) with two years in the same subject, so language and the arts show as dashes

UW's four years of additional coursework, such as foreign language, fine arts or career education, with two years in the same subject, are one combined bucket, so language and the arts show as dashes here. Math must include Algebra I, Algebra II, and Geometry; science must include at least one year of a physical science (physics or chemistry). University of Wyoming requirements (source), checked 2026-09-04.

Questions families ask

Does Wyoming require a homeschool diploma?

Show answer: Does Wyoming require a homeschool diploma?
No. The graduation rules above bind public schools; the parent issues the diploma, and the state neither reviews nor accredits it.

Who signs a homeschool transcript in Wyoming?

Show answer: Who signs a homeschool transcript in Wyoming?
The parent. The state does not review, sign, or accredit it. What makes it credible is that it is complete, consistent, and kept as the work happened.

What does University of Wyoming expect from a homeschooled applicant?

Show answer: What does University of Wyoming expect from a homeschooled applicant?
The course pattern in the table above, and the same application everyone files; the note under that table summarises the university's published admissions guidance.